This gallery contains 3 photos.
Our Life & Times history section aims to bring you some of the images and stories of Quaker lives of the past. We will be constantly updating this section with old photographs, newspaper reports and stories relating to the Quaker … Continue reading
Samuel Ellys’ ancestor, John Elly (1651 – 1733), accompanied his widowed mother to Ireland after his father had fallen in the battle between the kings’ and parliament armies at Worcester. He later joined the society of Friends and settled at … Continue reading
The Brownies, for girls aged 7 – 10 years, meet every Thursday afternoon in the Friends Meeting House, Enniscorthy, between 3pm and 5.30pm. New members and enquires are most welcome. For more information visit the Irish Girl Guides website.
Ballinclay Meeting House was built in 1743 by John Wright. The meeting had moved there in 1742 from Israel Websters of Ballinclare. The site was recorded as a ‘deed of gift… a meeting house and horse house’. This meeting house … Continue reading
Ballintore Meeting House was built in 1789 by Foster Tackerberry. The site for the meeting house having been provided by Quaker, William Tackerberry. It was leased to friends for 1d pa. The meeting was ‘laid down’ in 1980 and the … Continue reading
Cooladine Meeting House was likely to have been built about 1700. It was in that year the meeting in Knockduff was removed to Cooladine and a meeting at Curraduff, which had been settled in 1668, had removed there previously. A … Continue reading
Forest Friends Meeting was settled early, probably about 1666-’67 and may have succeeded to the very first Meeting of Friends in Wexford which had been settled at the home of Francis Randall in Edermine in 1657. This meeting then removed to … Continue reading
This gallery contains 1 photo.
New Ross Meeting House was built in 1788. Previously meetings had taken place in the houses of James Becket (1660), Ann and John Grubb, Deborah and John Elly, and Samuel Elly until 1789 when it was removed to the new … Continue reading
This gallery contains 9 photos.
Randall’s Mill is nestled in a picturesque area of east county Wexford. Although now only a ruin, one can not but be taken by the beauty of it’s surroundings. The mill was originally established in 1694 by the Randall family, who … Continue reading
This gallery contains 5 photos.
Wexford Town Meeting House was built in 1746 on land given to Friends by John Deanes of Silverspring in 1743. The meeting was ‘laid down’ in the late 18C and in 1795 it seems the Methodists held meetings there for … Continue reading