Blog Archives

Photo Gallery & Short Biographies

This gallery contains 3 photos.

Our Life & Times history section aims to bring you some of the images and stories of Quaker lives of the past. We will be constantly updating this section with old photographs, newspaper reports and stories relating to the Quaker … Continue reading

Gallery

New Ross Friends Meeting House

This gallery contains 1 photo.

New Ross Meeting House was built in 1788. Previously meetings had taken place in the houses of James Becket (1660), Ann and John Grubb, Deborah and John Elly, and Samuel Elly until 1789 when it was removed to the new … Continue reading

Gallery

Randalls Mill & Quaker Residence (Crossabeg)

This gallery contains 9 photos.

Randall’s Mill is nestled in a picturesque area of east county Wexford. Although now only a ruin, one can not but be taken by the beauty of it’s surroundings. The mill was originally established in 1694 by the Randall family, who … Continue reading

Gallery

Wexford Town Friends Meeting House

This gallery contains 5 photos.

Wexford Town Meeting House was built in 1746 on land given to Friends by John Deanes of Silverspring in 1743. The meeting was ‘laid down’ in the late 18C and in 1795 it seems the Methodists held meetings there for … Continue reading

Gallery

Ballinclay Burial Ground (Camolin)

This gallery contains 9 photos.

Ballinclay Burial Ground which dates from 1778 is situated in the middle of a large field and is framed in a small copse. It is surrounded by a stone wall and its entrance is that of an arched gateway. Originally it … Continue reading

Gallery

Cooladine Burial Ground (Enniscorthy)

This gallery contains 14 photos.

Cooladine Burial Ground dates from 1799 when “Elizabeth Chamberlain leased to Friends of Cooladine, a plot of land for their own burial ground, of 1 rood, 20 perches in extent. “The register records 100 burials since 1811 with a note … Continue reading

Gallery

Corlican Burial Ground (Rahaniska or Raweska, Killurin)

This gallery contains 16 photos.

Corlican or Rathaniska Friends Burial Ground is located in an ancient circular ring fort (rath). Its boundary is of earthen bank, approximately 34m in diameter. It is surrounded externally by a flat-bottomed fosse or ditch which measures up to 6m wide … Continue reading

Gallery

Forest Burial Ground (Taghmon)

This gallery contains 19 photos.

Forest Burial Ground comprises of 1 acre, 2 roods and 15 perches. It was situated to the rear of Forest Meeting House and was separated from it by an earthen bank. The first recorded burial was that of Jacob Martin … Continue reading

Gallery

New Ross Burial Ground

This gallery contains 3 photos.

New Ross Burial Ground was already known as a Quaker burial ground when it was acquired from John Elly in 1730. It is walled with an arched entrance gate. A list of burials from 1730 -1859 are recorded. (Source: David M. … Continue reading

Gallery | Tagged , , , ,

Organ Restoration

This gallery contains 13 photos.

Work is commencing on the restoration of our 120 year old Endsleigh ‘bellows operated’ American organ. The work will be completed by Paul Neiland & Associates, Pipe Organ Builders. The ‘Endsleigh’ organ was the name given to a particular style … Continue reading

Gallery